Tabletop weekend

Standard

This weekend my little brother visited me, and he, my boyfriend and I played some tabletop games. Some of them I haven’t played in a long time so it was fun to try them again :) Under the images you can find links to the games on boardgamegeek.

carcassonne ark of the covenantCarcassonne: Ark of the Covenant. It’s basically like normal Carcassonne but takes place in a desert and has some special rules. I like that you collect sheep instead of cities in your fields :) If you haven’t tried Carcassonne at all I recommend it! Perfect for all ages, and it’s super fun. 

drakonThis is Drakon (third edition). I hadn’t played this in a long time, and was pleasantly surprised at how fun it was! It has easy rules and a dragon! A dragon that will eat you if you can’t find 10 coins and get out of its dungeon before your friends :)

scrappersScrappers. This is my boyfriend’s game and I had never tried it before. You win if you can assemble a machine before the other players, but the parts you need are on a conveyor belt and you have to plan your moves to get to them. 

spankthemonkeyThen we played the Swedish Spank the Monkey with the Monkey Business expansion pack. There’s both a Swedish edition and an English one, and it’s a really fun game! You’re working in a junk yard, and have to get rid of an annoying monkey playing around among the garbage. To win the game you have to build a tower of junk and garbage to reach the monkey and spank him! (Did you assume that the game’s title referred to any other activity?! No, I didn’t think so).

~

I’ve bought a couple of larger boardgames lately, and decided to paint the miniatures for more fun and win. (Gray plastic miniatures = no fun and win at all!)
I have never painted a miniature before, so I was a bit nervous about it. What if I fail and ruin my expensive games? But I decided that whatever I did it would probably look better than before anyway.

So here are some of my first ever painted miniatures, from the game Mansions of Madness:
(Some of you are probably familiar with the H.P. Lovecraft mythos which Mansions of Madness is based on it.)

IMG_20150412_163219Here are some Chthonians.

IMG_20150413_220302In the front is a Mi-Go ripping the brain out of a head. Behind it are some zombies and witches.

IMG_20150414_030827This cute little critter is a Shoggoth.

My dear sister-in-law gave me an expansion pack to Mansions of Madness for my birthday! So sweet of her! <3 It’s called Forbidden Alchemy, and is partly based on Lovecraft’s Herbert West stories. I look forward to paint these figures and start playing, but the weather is too crappy at the moment so I can’t spray them with primer before the rain and wind decides to go away.
from Cathrin and Christoffer

Have you played any fun games lately? I’m always up for some recommendations!

 

6 responses »

  1. Oh we have Carcassonne (the normal one) as well, although for some reason we don’t play it that often. The favourites in my family are Settlers of Catan, Alhambra and Celtis. Another good one is Dominion.

    • Settlers of Catan is another great classic! I have never tried Alhambra or Celtis though. Alhambra looks really interesting. I’ll make sure to try it if I get the chance :)

  2. I have an entire room of my house dedicated to my MTG, D&D and other table top games. I adore them, and I will not hesitate to wipe them out whenever someone walks through the door. So worth the thousands of dollars I have spent!
    XO Yannie

  3. The last board game I played is”the dwarves” (don’t know if that is the English title ^^ or if it actually exists in English) – based on a fantasy novel that I didn’t know. The game is cooperative which was kind of interesting. So either everyone wins or loses! In general you try to fulfill assignments and fight elves, orcs, etc.
    The others that I’ve played recently are rather card games and can be played in bigger groups: Cards against humanity (super FUN, but depending on your humour and the group! Some examples: http://www.buzzfeed.com/leonoraepstein/cards-against-humanity-combos-that-will-make-you-think-tw#.knzL3nB6rB) and Blood bound (not my favourite, but ok and as I said good for bigger groups)..Two opposing clans try to kill the leader of the other clan.

Leave a Reply

