The art of wrecking

Standard

I got this most wonderful thing in the mail today from Cecilia, my bestest of friends! She told me she had sent me a letter, so I got surprise to find this little book of madness in my mailbox. I have already started to the process of total destruction, and even my boyfriend got jealous of this journal :D

(I have heard of Wreck This Journal before, but never actually seen it, and it’s more fun than I imagined! )

back

This is how I found it in my mailbox. I love that Cecilia followed the instructions and mailed it to her best friend, and I love that the string didn’t come off in the mail. Yes, I only have love for all of this.

front

wreckThe postal system had already begun the wrecking, which was the point.

scratchI had to play with this right away! Scratching is fun, and it gave me some inspiration for mail art. Destruction as a creative inspiration is a great concept.

4lettersSome colourful Swedish words for you :)

~

Thank you a lot Cecilia! I hope we can compare wrecked journals next time we meet since you told me that you have one too :D

*off to do some more wrecking of journal*

8 responses »

    • I think everyone would have fun with this book.
      I’m not a very tidy person, but some pages in this journal make go “uh… no, I can’t do that! It’s too messy even for me!” and then I want to try it :D (And yes, this is why I recommend it.)

  1. Totally wanted to show off my new pink nail polish there, and thought it would be the best lasting text for the back since the cover is black.. :P

    • Oh, so you added it? :O I thought it was part of the book’s design! *stupid*
      Your pink nail polish is very pink, but I expect nothing less from you Miss!

  2. I love Keri Smith too! She is great! You would love her other books too! They are so inspiring! Hey you go to comic cons on a regular basis, right? I was wondering if they usually have small press/independent publishers tables? There’s one in glasgow I think I’ll be going to next month! Simon Bisley (He did the amazing art work for the LOBO comics) is going to be there! WOO!

  3. I have the book too! :) I just only bought it! :) I thought of doing a blog post of it but you’ve done it first :) Love yours! :) Your friend is very, very creative :)

  4. I’ve seen this book before, but I have not bought one yet! It sounds like it may have lots of great mail art ideas that you can borrow. I’d love to see more of your pages as you complete them!

Leave a Reply

