Unframed view

Standard

Today was the day I would seriously start the finishing of my paper on St Thomas Becket. I did not. I am so tired that the world seems to move in slow motion, my head wants to dangle from the shoulders, and I think my eyelashes are painted with lead. This is because I had to get up super early this morning; 9 am is for the mature part of humanity but not me! I also had serious problems falling asleep yesterday, probably because I knew I had to get up early. But I didn’t mind that much since I listened to 3 CD:s of the Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell audio book while lying in bed and trying to feel enthusiastic about the whole falling asleep-process.

Now I’m done with the whining. Let’s move on to something more fun!

I got new books today – again. Have you read any of them? Which should I start with?

böcker

Skip Beat! (manga), The Séance, Florence & Giles, Rivers of London, The Night Circus

I haven’t finished the last stash of books yet, but you can never buy too many books.

Except for a welcomed package full of books I also got a Swap-Bot letter with a recipe for Kentucky Chocolate Chip Pie. Sounds awesomely delicious! I have actually never had chocolate pie. I have only tried pies with various fruit/berry fillings. Now I just have to translate the American cooking terms to something I can work with. What is a “stick” of butter for example? xD Google will probably help me if I ask nicely.

brevochrecept

Other than being tired and receiving mail I have visited an optician and gotten myself some contact lenses. It’s weird to see the world without the blurry black frame like I’m used to. It’s also weird to see so much of my own nose! Seriously, it looks twice as big now when I have no glasses blocking the view of it!

eyes5

No glasses! So much face!

8 responses »

  1. I’ve only ever heard good things about The Night Circus, and actually ordered it earlier today because I figured it was time to read it. I really want to read Rivers of London too, I was reminded of it a few days ago and was like “oh why haven’t I read that one yet?” and then I looked at my book shelf and went “oh, that’s why.” ;) But I’m the same, have yet a ton of books to finish but can’t stop buying more, I just love them too much.

    • I have the same dilemma when it comes to buying books. I have tons of unread books at home already, but I keep on buying more of them! I just love book shopping :3
      I have just started reading The Night Circus and so far it looks promising. We’ll see where it takes me.

  2. I’ve read about half of The Night Circus, and I like certain parts of it, and other parts aren’t as exciting. It’s told from several different character’s POV, which is something I think is very difficult to pull off, as inevitably some characters are more interesting than others! They are also very vague about what the ‘competition’ is, and that it’s a bit frustrating…but it does have some very nice bits as well.

    • The first to pages of the book, the ones describing the opening of the circus from the reader’s point of view, were amazing! I was a little disappointed when the author changed to a more conventional POV, but still intrigued.
      I haven’t read much of the book yet, but I’m already a bit impatient with the secret competition thingy. Time will tell if it grows to frustration or healthy curiosity.
      I’m still hoping for this books to blow my mind :) The first two pages were really promising!

      • I agree–the beginning was amazing, and there are some stunning moments to be sure, but unfortunately impatience got the best of me and I put it down in favor of something else, though I do want to go back to just to see how it turns out…if you finish it you’ll have to let me know if it’s worth it!

        • I’ll keep you updated as soon as I start reading it again! I haven’t had much time for reading lately, and now when I have a weekend off I’m not inclined to open a book at all since I’ve done nothing than reading (studying literature that is) for the last week or two. I will get back to the book though when I’m a bit more relaxed :)

Leave a Reply

